Forces-of-Nature Forums

Last Active : Never
Not logged in [Login - Register]

windsurf, Kitesurf, Waves, Surf, Sunset

Printable Version
Subscribe | Add to Favorites
<<  1    2  >>
Author: Subject: Shockwave or Switchblade ??????????
boardhedz

Member #: 1853
Posts 3

Mood:

posted on 24-4-2006 at 13:56 Reply With Quote
Shockwave or Switchblade ??????????

Please help a newbie !

Hi, I am completely new to the sport and plan to buy my first kite as soon as I have sorted my dilemma!!! I have been windsurfing, wakeboarding, snowboarding for a number of years and haven’t tried kiting for fear of the dreaded dragging down the beach, but at 40 and with the introduction of the de-powerable kites I thought now‘s the time!!!!!!

I’ve done a little research and feel (rightly or wrongly) that the Naish Shockwave 12m or the Cabrinha Switchblade 12m would be the best kites to take me from complete beginner to a reasonable standard; I am prepared not to scrimp on the kite as I feel this is the important bit of kit; could you please help!!!!

I feel both kites are not too different, (remember I know nothing though) but, because I am not experienced at all, I cannot fully appreciate the relative merits of both control systems, or the de-power systems, which will work the best and stand the test of time.

If anyone can offer any advise I would be very grateful as I am keen to learn and want to get going.

Thanks to anyone who responds

mNeil
A Force-of-Nature ****

Member #: 276
Posts 1840

Mood: looking forward to some snowbo

posted on 24-4-2006 at 16:12 Reply With Quote
have flown a FEW bow kites and although they are not for me they are great for learning, far safer than our conventional C kites in a learners hands.
of the few that i have seen and tried and are available;i think the cabrihna crossbow is the best made and flies striaght out of the bag without much setting -up for a beginner; 11 mtr is the one to go for.