Author: Subject: beginner :(
edi
Grommet

Member #: 492
Posts 14

Mood:

posted on 2-1-2004 at 21:56 Reply With Quote
beginner :(

you probably get these sort of posts all the time, so im going to give you another one so...im a beginner, ive done loads of lessons so i could be more of an "amatrue" but i need you pros to tell me what im guna need to buy so i can do kiting with a land boad (i got one of them tho so no worries), can you recommend different kites and what ill need with them, im looking for a kite which is about 7/8 metres and water relaunchable so i can try surfing on my mates board. maybe some of you could sell me some of your stuff?
thanks for your help (which i hope youre going to give me)
edi

justal
Administrator

Member #: 1
Posts 7350

Mood: Just Chillin Dude

posted on 2-1-2004 at 22:16 Reply With Quote
Hi Edi....

Don't worry about posting questions like this, thats what these forums are for!!

I'll leave it up to some of the people who are a little more up on the newer kites to make recommendations, but in an ideal world you would really need different kites for land boarding and kite-surfing. For use on a mountain-board you really want a medium sized foil, something in the 3-5m range would be ideal I should imagine. Whereas for use on the water you want a water-relaunchable kite. Most people use 'Leading Edge Inflatable' (LEI) kites as first introduced by Wipika. There are now loads to choose from and the size best suited to you will depend on the conditions you are most likely to go out in and your weight... Something around 10-12m is an 'average' size if you are only going to have one.... You'll soon want more though to cover a wider wind range.

Although it is possible to use foils on the water or LEI's on the land, it isn't ideal.... Using (non-water-relaunchable) foils on the water has its obvious drawbacks. If you crash it you have a long swim home!