Author: Subject: New Member, Need Help!
micky skinner
Beach Bum

Member #: 379
Posts 17

Mood:

posted on 25-9-2003 at 13:49 Reply With Quote
New Member, Need Help!

Living in the middle of Birmingham I was shocked today to find an outlet selling off surf equipment. They have board bags, shorts & T-shirts and wetsuits. I am just getting into surfing (actually I've never done it before), have borrowed my cousins board (a 6'6 Thruster) and am going to Borth next weekend to get a lesson and have a go with my pals. Now to my question: What thickness of wetsuit should I buy? The ones on sale are RIP CURL ULTIMATE ELASTO SLICKSKIN Back Zip Batwing 3/2 and are reduced from £209 to £80! Will this be warm enough or will I need to get a CORE Hooded Sleevless Hotskin which they also have? I am completely new to this game, as are my mates and although I know it's a great deal, don't know if I'm buying the right stuff yet! Any help with this dilemma would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers,

Micky

SinistaPenguin
Pro

Member #: 359
Posts 122

Mood: Getting less surf than my avat

posted on 25-9-2003 at 13:55 Reply With Quote
2 things:

1- Yes a 3/2 will be warm enough to see you through most of the year. Probably March - November. Unless you plan on surfing absolutely all year and are very serious I would say a 3/2 will - particularly a Rip-Curl Slick Skin!

2 - Where is this shop, cos I need a new suit and I want one of those!!

"...that's just the lemon next to the pie..."

justal
Administrator

Member #: 1
Posts 7350

Mood: Just Chillin Dude

posted on 25-9-2003 at 18:54 Reply With Quote
BUT.... The best surf usually comes along in the winter (November - March), when a 3/2mm suit won't be enough. If you plan on surfing all year round, then go for a 5/3mm suit. I can assure you you'll need it in February, along with boots, gloves and a hood.