Forces-of-Nature Forums

Last Active : Never
Not logged in [Login - Register]

windsurf, Kitesurf, Waves, Surf, Sunset

Printable Version
Subscribe | Add to Favorites
Author: Subject: Advice please for new but keen windsurfer!
wilfster

Member #: 8950
Posts 1

Mood:

posted on 15-6-2010 at 20:40 Reply With Quote
Advice please for new but keen windsurfer!

Hi, would welcome advice please from the expert help out there. I am just getting into windsurfing, have done the RYA basic course on a lake and have hired a Starboard Rio which I can (sometimes) sail and turn without using daggerboard. A friend has offered his 1995 Mistral Echoo 133 ltrs with a couple of gun camber induced sails, boom, mast extension and so forth. It does not have a daggerboard. Also the mast foot is a rubber swivel item. Question, at 12 st am I being ambitious in trying to sail this or am I going to make a spectacle of myself, again? Any advice would be welcome, I need something inexpensive to get me started in the sport, the club will rent gear but don't want to commit masses until I work out where and how fast I am going!
justal
Administrator

Member #: 1
Posts 7350

Mood: Just Chillin Dude

posted on 16-6-2010 at 06:56 Reply With Quote
Hi 'Wilfster',
I guess it depends on the price, but the Echo is a very old board and in comparison with modern boards long and narrow. More modern boards are much wider and therefore a lot more stable which is important in the initial learning stages.

Now, that isn't to say you couldn't learn on such a board (we did back in the day!) but you'll progress much quicker on a newer board. If you can hire kit then it might be worth doing that a few times until you are a little better and at the same time it will give you chance to try out a few different boards to see which ones you get on best with.