Author: Subject: Faking It
justal
Administrator

Member #: 1
Posts 7350

Mood: Just Chillin Dude

posted on 1-11-2002 at 07:10 Reply With Quote
Faking It

I've never seen this program myself, but I have heard of it...Apparently next weeks episode is about surfing..

One guy (who is a complete beginner) gets 4 weeks to learn to surf before trying to fool judges of a surf competition that he's a 'pro'...

He doesn't stand a chance. The worrying thing is in previous episodes the 'faker' has fooled the judges and hasn't ben spotted. I'm sure no one can do that with surfing, but its gonna make us look pretty silly if he does... I for one wouldn't stand a chance a chance in a competition (probably) and thats after 16 years of learning to surf!!

Al.

URL: Pixelwave Design - Website Design Wales
Shop: Website Templates

Personal Weblog: A Simple Life of Luxury in West Wales

adam

Member #: 3
Posts 184

Mood:

posted on 1-11-2002 at 12:21 Reply With Quote
Yeah I thought the same. I think he's being taught by Guts Griffiths, so he may be entering longboard comps, and I guess it depends what level of competition he's entering too; whatever I don't think he'll do it. Could be fun to watch though.
justal
Administrator

Posts 7350

posted on 1-11-2002 at 16:56 Reply With Quote
I suppose if he enters a club beginners level longboard comp he could get away with it, especially if he's had 4 weeks of surfing every day with a professional coach at his side in decent surf... I think he'd still have trouble winning the comp though.

If I could surf in decent conditions every day for 4 days then i'd improve quite a bit too.

He'd obviously stand no chance in a top class surf comp. But then, nor would any of the members of this forum!

One things for sure though. No matter how he does, he'll be hooked on surfing by the end of it.

Al.

justal
Administrator

Posts 7350

posted on 1-11-2002 at 18:00 Reply With Quote
Just found an article with the details of the 'Faking It' program:
quote: