Board logo

Got hooked in Dahab and now 'need' to buy some kit..
niko-time - 29-3-2010 at 14:31

Hello all, I'm new here. Briefly telling you about myself and my abilities, I am a university student studying philosophy at UEA and joined the windsurfing society (for want of a night out rather than windsurfing to be honest...) and have been 4 or 5 times since september, generally at the Norfolk Broads and also some SWA events (going to the BUCs nationals in Southampton...eek) and decided to go on a trip to dahab for a week with the society. Just got back (5am this morning) and am hooked and thus would quite like to get some kit to call my own.

I am 6"1 and around 11 stone. In Dahab I was riding a Shark 135/150 depending on conditions. Not sure what level I am although certainly improved vastly, no longer really need a daggerboard unless the wind was ridiculous in which I needed it to get upwind (and not get stranded and rescued by Egptian safety boat drivers which happened perhaps a little too frequently...) and managed to get into the harness planing but not into footstraps. I can beach start but not waterstart, and my fast tacking is fairly consistent, at least much more consistent than my jives which I need to work on.

Sorry for all that detail, but I figured too much detail was better than too little. Basically, I am looking to get a windsurfing kit so I can go out with my windsurfing comrades (living with 3 next year) and not just on university trips. Due to the student budget, this will have to be taken place over a period of time and I would much prefer to buy used to save money. Where are places I can look for these?

I also know very little about kit, what is good what is not etc. I would quite like a 135-145 litre board and probably a 5" sail to start me off. Which sort of areas should I look in, a quick google left me pretty perplexed (although it did find me this lovely site).

Thanks, sorry for the essay of a first post!

EDIT: Gybes, not jives...