Board logo

Kite advice
Pauly - 13-8-2003 at 13:28

Hi. I wanna get "into" kite-landboarding. Ive never flown a sports kite before and so I thought I'd see what you people suggest I buy before talking to the guy at the shop. I'd be flying it at Borth/Ynyslas and am confused about what size to get. Although im a total beginner i dont really want a tiny kite that i'll be bored with after 2 months. A good allrounder, any suggestions?

justal - 13-8-2003 at 16:17

Pauly... Some of that will depend upin your size/weight, and also how much of a go=for it attitude you have.

However, something between 3.0m or 5.0m would probably be perfect. That sort of size has pelnty of power and will get you going in relatively light winds, but isn't too huge. Its just about the perfect size if you are going to have only one kite.

As kites start to get bigger, they generally respond slower and take longer to turn, so generating power by flying them in a 'sine wave' pattern is less efficient than it is with a smaller more responsive kite. So theres a diminishing return from just getting bigger and bigger kites.

If you're going to be on the beach here, let me know and I'll let you have a go with my 4.9m Blade (if the conditions are suitable).

Let us know what kite you decide upon before you buy as well so that we can tell you if its OK. (we might even be able to find you a better deal!)

Al.

Pauly - 15-8-2003 at 13:40

Cheers al. Have been looking and im tempted by the Flexifoil, 'Bullet'. Apparently its, "...powerful yet easy to handle...suitable for pros and beginners alike." Theres a a choice of 4 sizes with surface areas of 1.5, 2.5, 3.5 and 4.5 sq metres. I like the sound of the 3.5 or maybe im being to confident? Anyway the shop near me says £235 with lines and handles.
Oh yeah, handles or control bar? Whats the opinion here?

Sorry 'bout all the q's!

justal - 16-8-2003 at 05:37

Hi Pauly...